Africa Cup of Nations 2021 begins

Africa Cup of Nations 2021 begins

33rd edition of Africa’s flagship competition will start at Olembe Stadium in Cameroon’s capital

The Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) 2021 will start Sunday with Cameroon going against Burkina Faso in the opening match at Olembe Stadium in the Cameroon capital of Yaounde.

Five-time champions Cameroon is the host nation of the 33rd edition of Africa’s flagship competition which is held every two years.

After the group stage is completed with 24 teams in six groups Jan. 20, the Round of 16 will be held Jan. 23 – 26.

The final match will be played Feb. 6 at Olembe Stadium.

Founded in 1957 and sanctioned by the Confederation of African Football (CAF), the CAF Africa Cup of Nations is the main international men’s association football competition in Africa.

Reigning champions Algeria bagged their second title in 2019.

The most successful nation of the organization is Egypt, including when the country was known as the United Arab Republic from 1958 – 1961, with seven titles in 1957, 1959, 1986, 1998, 2006, 2008 and 2010.

Egypt is also the only national team to win the tournament three times in a row in 2006, 2008 and 2010.


Group A: Cameroon, Burkina Faso, Ethiopia, Cape Verde

Group B: Senegal, Zimbabwe, Guinea, Malawi

Group C: Morocco, Ghana, Comoros, Gabon

Group D: Nigeria, Egypt, Sudan, Guinea-Bissau

Group E: Algeria, Sierra Leone, Equatorial Guinea, Ivory Coast

Group F: Tunisia, Mali, Mauritania, Gambia