Home » India beat South Africa to win T20 World Cup

India beat South Africa to win T20 World Cup


India edged South Africa to win their second T20 World Cup title and first since 2007 as an astounding catch from Suryakumar Yadav and excellent death bowling clinched a nerve-shredding seven-run victory in Barbados.

South Africa – playing in their first World Cup final in either T20 or 50-over cricket after winning a semi-final at the eighth attempt against Afghanistan – looked poised to reach their target of 177 when Heinrich Klaasen (52 off 27) took Axar Patel’s 15th over for 24, trimming the requirement to 30 from 30 balls.

However, Jasprit Bumrah (2-18) shipped only six runs combined from the 16th and 18th overs, while Klaasen snicked Hardik Pandya (3-20) behind in between and after the Proteas could muster only four runs off Arshdeep Singh’s 19th, the new ask became 16 off six.

Score summary – South Africa vs India

India 176-7 from 20 overs: Virat Kohli (76 off 59), Axar Patel (47 off 31), Shivam Dube (27 off 16); Keshav Maharaj (2-23), Anrich Nortje (2-26), Kagiso Rabada (1-36)

South Africa 169-8 from 20 overs: Heinrich Klaasen (52 off 27), Quinton de Kock (39 off 31), Tristan Stubbs (31 off 21); Hardik Pandya (3-20), Jasprit Bumrah (2-18), Arshdeep Singh (2-20)

Source – India beat South Africa to win T20 World Cup after fine death bowling and Suryakumar Yadav’s stunning catch | Cricket News | Sky Sports