Robert Lewandowski wins The Best FIFA Men’s Player of the Year award

Robert Lewandowski wins The Best FIFA Men’s Player of the Year award

Robert Lewandowski has been named The Best FIFA Men’s Player of the Year for the second year in a row.
The Bayern Munich striker held off competition from fellow finalists Lionel Messi and Mohamed Salah to scoop the individual award.

Lewandowski enjoyed an incredible 2021, breaking Gerd Muller’s long-standing records for most Bundesliga goals in a season and in a calendar year.

The Poland international helped Bayern to more Bundesliga glory in the process, and becomes only the second player after Cristiano Ronaldo to win The Best FIFA Men’s Player award more than once since it began in 2016.

Messi had won the Ballon d’Or for his 2021 exploits, which included helping Argentina to the Copa America crown, and was selected alongside Lewandowski in the FIFPro Men’s World XI.

However, Salah missed out on that team despite FIFA including four attackers, with Ronaldo and Erling Braut Haaland completing the quartet.

Earlier in the evening, Barcelona and Spain’s Alexia Putellas won The Best FIFA Women’s Player award, while there was a special trophy for Ronaldo in recognition of him breaking the all-time international goalscoring record.

It was a memorable night for Chelsea, who claimed both the men’s and women’s coach of the year in Thomas Tuchel and Emma Hayes respectively, while Edouard Mendy was named the goalkeeper of the year.

Former Tottenham Hotspur attacker Erik Lamela won the Puskas award for his rabona effort against Arsenal in the North London derby.

The Denmark national team picked up the FIFA Fair Play award for their reaction to Christian Eriksen’s collapse at Euro 2020, an incident which also saw the Danish and Finnish supporters pick up the FIFA Fan award.